2009 Learning In Practice Award Recipients Announced – Enterprise Learning and Workforce Development Leaders Honored

More than 45 awards were presented to the learning industry’s most respected leaders during a special awards ceremony on Sept. 29 at the Fall 2009 Chief Learning Officer Symposium, held at the Broadmoor in Colorado Springs, Colo.

Colorado Springs, Colo., Sept. 29, 2009 – More than 45 awards were presented to the learning industry's most respected leaders during a special awards ceremony on Sept. 29 at the Fall 2009 Chief Learning Officer Symposium, held at the Broadmoor in Colorado Springs, Colo.

“The Learning In Practice awards were established to recognize transformational and visionary leaders in enterprise education,” said Norm Kamikow, president and editor in chief of Chief Learning Officer magazine. “A record number of top learning executives and solution providers were nominated by their peers. The winners are the industry leaders who truly champion innovation and transform it into learning and value for their organizations.”

The awards were broken into seven categories, with two divisions in each award category (Division 1 for organizations with fewer than 10,000 employees and Division 2 for organizations with more than 10,000 employees). Special Provider Awards also were presented to distinguished learning solution providers in seven categories.

The award winners are as follows:

Learning in Practice Awards

Chief Learning Officer of the Year:
Cedric Coco, Vice President, Learning and Organizational Effectiveness, Lowe's Companies, Inc.

The Leadership Award:
Division 1
Gold: Louise Korver-Swanson, Global Head of Executive Development, EMC Corporation
Silver: Major General Erwin Lessel, Director of Plans, Programs, Requirements and Assessments, U.S. Air Force Air Education and Training Command

Division 2
Gold: Andrew Miller, Director, Training and Development, Sysco Foodservices of Canada
Silver: Matt Jones, Vice President, Essilor Labs of America

The Vanguard Award:
Division 1
Gold: John Royer, Director of Sales Training Strategy, AstraZeneca
Silver: Frank Anderson, President, Defense Acquisition University
Silver: Lou Tedrick, Senior Vice President, Verizon Business

Division 2
Gold: Donal Conn, Global Learning and Development Leader, Momentive Performance Materials
Silver: Betty Bergquist, Vice President of Education, American Family Insurance Group

The Innovation Award:
Division 1
Gold: Charles Beckham, Chief Technology Officer, Sun Learning Services
Silver: Marquam Piros, Senior Director, Seagate Technology

Division 2
Gold: Rob Hennigar, Director of Education, Constellation Wines
Silver: Teri Olsen, Director, University Health Care, University of Utah

The Business Impact Award:
Division 1
Gold: Dan Braunm, Vice President, Global Learning, CA, Inc.
Silver: Barbara Keen, Senior Director, Bristol-Myers Squibb Company

Division 2
Gold: Dan Clark, Vice President, Silliker Inc.
Silver: Anthony Sandonato, Manager, Leadership Development, Wyndham Vacation Ownership

The Global Learning Award:
Division 1
Gold: Matthew Peters, Chief Learning Officer, Defense Intelligence Agency
Silver: Michael Lux, Vice President, CA, Inc.

Division 2
Gold: Joe Lepore, Head of Global Technical Training, Life Technologies

The Learning Team Award:
Division 1
Gold: ManTech International Corporation
Silver: E-Learning and Technology Center Team, Defense Acquisition University

Division 2
Gold: American Family Insurance Group
Silver: Talent Development Studio, Gensler Corporation

Provider Awards

Excellence in E-Learning Award
Gold: NIIT (USA) Inc.
Silver: Learning Tree International
Bronze: Allen Interactions

Excellence in LMS Award
Gold: Adayana
Silver: GeoLearning
Bronze: Allen Communication Learning Services

Excellence in Simulations and Games Award
Gold: NexLearn
Silver: WILL Interactive
Bronze: Enspire Learning

Excellence in Social Networks Award
Gold: General Physics Corporation
Silver: Saba

Excellence in Content Award
Gold: Market-Partners
Silver: Herrmann International
Bronze: Harvard Business Publishing

Excellence in Customer Service Award
Gold: Vivid Learning Systems
Silver: Achieve Global
Bronze: General Physics Corporation

Excellence in Academic Partnerships Award
Gold: Bellevue University
Silver: SMU Cox Executive Education
Bronze: College of the Extended University California State Polytechnic University, Pomona

All of the award winners will be featured in a special report supplement in the December issue of Chief Learning Officer magazine.


About MediaTec Publishing, Inc.

MediaTec Publishing Inc. is a leading integrated media company serving the human capital, management and workforce development industries. MediaTec publishes Certification Magazine, Chief Learning Officer magazine, Talent Management magazine, Diversity Executive magazine and operates the online industry resource, HumanCapitalMedia.com. MediaTec leverages its award-winning editorial content with innovative integrated media products including targeted e-newsletters, webinars, interactive Web sites, special print and online supplements, resource guides, industry research and conferences that bring together international audiences to network and discuss leading-edge strategy and best practices in the industry. MediaTec partners with recognized industry experts and provides thought-provoking feature articles, news, opinions and insights through its award-winning publications, events and e-media. Each MediaTec product gives readers the business intelligence and knowledge they need to succeed in new and changing markets.

Laura Cibuls
Marketing Communications Manager
MediaTec Publishing Inc.